st michaels our team

Our Team

Management Team

Mike Thomas
Mike ThomasCEO
Mike joined St Michael’s in 2021, bringing with him over 25 years of leadership and management experience. Mike has had a diverse career across many sectors, including scientific research, politics, transport, financial services and healthcare.
Andy Gower
Andy GowerExecutive Director Disability Services
Andy has more than 10 years’ experience working in the financial sector. He has previously run his own business and brings specialist skills in team-based learning to St Michael’s. He is also a passionate coach of cricket and football umpiring groups.
Kim Dean
Kim DeanRegistered Training Organisation (RTO) Manager
Kim manages St Michaels Training; our Registered Training Organisation (RTO). Over the 13 years that Kim has been working in an RTO she has gained extensive knowledge of the Vocational Education Sector and has high-level leadership skills in RTO management, compliance and the delivery of training and assessment. Her focus is on positive outcomes for all learners and clients.
Ann-Louise Young
Ann-Louise YoungDirector of People and Culture
Ann-Louise has more than 15 years of human resource and learning and development experience. Ann-Louise has a passion for people and assisting them to reach their professional learning goals.
Darrin Geard
Darrin GeardDirector of Finance and Administration
Darrin joined St Michael’s in 2022 bringing with him over 30 years of leadership and management experience. He has had employment experience in corporate banking, employment, sporting administration as operations manager of a commercial laundry. Darrin is also involved in football coaching and cricket administration.

Board of Management

Colin Foon
Colin FoonPresident
Colin is a long-time member of the St Michaels Board and a life member of several organisations including the Old Launcestonians Football Club, being that club’s first NTFA living legend. He has been a practising lawyer for over four decades and is now a consultant to his former law firm.
Simone Woodruff
Simone WoodruffVice President
Simone has 30 years’ experience working in disability services. She was President of Independent Services for 22 years, and spent 22 years at Housing Tasmania as a Tenancy Officer for public housing.
Keith Watson
Keith WatsonBoard Treasurer and Chair of the Audit and Risk Subcommittee
Keith has been an accountant in Launceston for more than 15 years. Keith holds Bachelor of Commerce from Deakin University as well as a Master of Professional Accounting from the University of Southern Queensland. Keith has completed his CPA professional qualifications and in addition is a Chartered Tax Advisor with the Tax Institute of Australia. He chairs the Audit and Risk Sub-Committee.
Brian Dunham
Brian DunhamBoard Member
Brian has considerable experience on the Board, and is currently Co-Chair of the Parent Liaison Sub-Committee. He has a son who is a residential participant at St Michael’s. Now retired, Brian was previously a real estate manager and property maintenance contractor. Brian is a Life Member of the Association and in 2021 was recognised with a Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2021 Tasmanian Disability Festival Awards.
Cheryl Scott
Cheryl ScottBoard Member
Cheryl Scott is a Speech Pathologist who has many years of experience in the public sector. Her son attends St Michael’s. She is keen to work with parents and St Michael’s to improve outcomes for all participants.
Chris Cooper
Chris CooperBoard Member
Chris is very familiar with the Association being the son of former long-serving Board member and life member Jill.
He also has two brothers who attend St Michael’s.
Chris brings a wealth of talent to the Board through his long career in the financial and government sectors.
Dr Robyn Wallace
Dr Robyn WallaceBoard Member
Robyn is a physician, researcher and educator from Hobart with experience and interest in optimising healthcare for adults with intellectual disability and in ensuring the quality and safety of disability supports provision.